SPOTY 2017: Who Are the Contenders, Previous Winners, How to Vote And Odds?

World heavyweight champion Anthony Joshua and four-time Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton were among the list of 12 sportsmen and women nominated for the 2017 Sports Personality of the Year.

The BBC event will take place on December 17 at the Echo Arena in Liverpool, with the winner decided by public vote. Voting will open on the night.

Two-time Wimbledon champion Andy Murray has won it in the last two years but was not among the shortlist for 2017. Hamilton, the racing driver for Mercedes, is the only previous winner among this years' contenders.

So who else is on the shortlist?

Elise Christie—Short Track Speed Skating

Sir Mo Farah—Athletics

Chris Froome—Cycling

Lewis Hamilton—F1

Anthony Joshua—Boxing

Harry Kane—Football

Johanna Konta—Tennis

Jonnie Peacock—Para-athletics

Adam Peaty—Swimming

Jonathan Rea—Motorcycling

Anya Shrubsole—Cricket

Bianca Walkden—Taekwondo

Three-Time Winner Andy Murray
Projection of Andy Murray at First Direct Arena, Leeds, England, December 15, 2013. Jan Kruger/Getty

Who is expected to win?

After beating Wladimir Klitschko with a technical knockout in April to win the WBA and IBO titles, and defending his IBF belt against Carlos Takam in October, Anthony Joshua is the favorite at 2/9.

Second is 2014 winner Lewis Hamilton at 6/1. The 32-year-old became the most successful British Formula One driver in history when he secured his fourth world title in Mexico in October.

Chris Froome comes in third at 10/1 after becoming the first British rider to win La Vuelta this year, as well as claiming victory in the Tour de France for the third successive year.

Bookies' Favorite Anthony Joshua
Wladimir Klitschko, center, and Anthony Joshua, right, at Wembley Stadium, London, England, April 29. Joshua beat Klitschko to add the WBA and IBO belts to his IBF title. Richard Heathcote/Getty

Who has won in the past?


2016 Andy Murray

2015 Andy Murray

2014 Lewis Hamilton

2013 Andy Murray

2012 Sir Bradley Wiggins

2011 Mark Cavendish

2010 AP McCoy


2009 Ryan Giggs

2008 Sir Chris Hoy

2007 Joe Calzaghe

2006 Zara Phillips

2005 Andrew Flintoff

2004 Dame Kelly Holmes

2003 Jonny Wilkinson

2002 Paula Radcliffe

2001 David Beckham

2000 Sir Steve Redgrave

2004 Winner Dame Kelly Holmes
Kelly Holmes at Piccadilly in London, Great Britain. J. Quinton/Getty


1999 Lennox Lewis

1998 Michael Owen

1997 Greg Rusedski

1996 Damon Hill

1995 Jonathan Edwards

1994 Damon Hill

1993 Linford Christie

1992 Nigel Mansell

1991 Liz McColgan

1990 Paul Gascoigne


1989 Sir Nick Faldo

1988 Steve Davis

1987 Fatima Whitbread

1986 Nigel Mansell

1985 Barry McGuigan

1984 Torvill and Dean

1983 Steve Cram

1982 Daley Thompson

1981 Sir Ian Botham

1980 Robin Cousins


1979 Lord Sebastian Coe

1987 Steve Ovett

1977 Virginia Wade

1976 John Curry

1975 David Steele

1974 Brendan Foster

1973 Sir Jackie Stewart

1972 Dame Mary Peters

1971 HRH Princess Anne

1970 Sir Henry Cooper


1969 Ann Jones

1968 David Hemery

1967 Sir Henry Cooper

1966 Bobby Moore

1965 Tommy Simpson

1964 Mary Rand

1963 Dorothy Hyman

1962 Anita Lonsbrough

1961 Sir Stirling Moss

1960 David Broome


1959 John Surtees

1958 Ian Black

1957 Dai Rees

1956 Jim Laker

1955 Gordon Pirie

1954 Sir Chris Chataway